Challenging a parking ticket with the ParkMobile app – iPhone J.D.

iPhone J.D. is published by Jeff Richardson, an attorney in New Orleans, Louisiana. 

I fought the law, and my app won.  Here is my story.

For many years now, there have been systems in place in many cities allowing you to pay for a parking spot using an iPhone app.  I live in New Orleans, and the system that we use here is called ParkMobile, which operates in 350 cities in the United States.  It is convenient that you can pay for a parking spot before you even leave your car, it is helpful to see how much time you have on the meter even when you are far away from your car, and perhaps best of all, you can add more time to the parking meter no matter where you are.  There have been multiple times when I have been in a deposition or a meeting which ran long and I was able to quickly add more time to the meter without having to go all the way back to my car.  The system works so well that it has almost seemed too easy, making me wonder if simply using the app really would protect me from getting a parking ticket.

Read more…

Leave a comment