Review: Apple Watch – iPhone J.D.

Jeff Richardson:

The Apple Watch is the newest product from Apple.  It requires an iPhone and thus can be viewed as an iPhone accessory, much like you might have Bluetooth headphones that work with your iPhone.  But it has so much computing power that it can also be considered an independent device, alongside the iPad, iPod, etc.  After three days with the Apple Watch, I am incredibly impressed.  For those of you wondering whether you should get one, hopefully my initial experiences will help you to make a decision for yourself.

The model that I have is the Apple Watch 42mm Stainless Steel with Black Classic Buckle.  I ordered it just a few minutes after Apple started taking pre-orders on April 10, 2015, and my Apple Watch was in my hands around 9:30 a.m. on Friday, April 24.  My first three days with the Apple Watch have been different types of days.  Friday was a work day, so I was mostly in the office.  Saturday I was mostly at home, doing errands and playing with my kids.  On Sunday I was at the New Orleans Jazz Fest, so I was outside most of the day and doing a lot of walking around and receiving and sending a lot of text messages to make plans with others at Jazz Fest.  These three very different days gave me the opportunity to really understand how the Apple Watch excels and what its limitations are.  

Read Jeff’s full review here.

Related articles