A New Kind of Instant Messaging

Whether it’s corporations or governments, digital surveillance today is widespread. Toxis easy-to-use software that connects you with friends and family without anyone else listening in. While other big-name services require you to pay for features, Tox is completely free and comes without advertising — forever.
Everything you do with Tox is encrypted using open-source libraries. The only people who can see your conversations are the people you’re talking with.
Life hack: how to best arrange your iPhone apps, one icon at a time | Technology | The Guardian

In the 10 years since the¬†iPhone¬†launched, I’ve never really settled on a way to arrange my home screen that I actually like. Folders seem clunky but no folders leaves me with too many things multiple swipes away. Organising by what I use most leaves me with the rarely but rapidly needed apps buried, while organising by speed of access leaves me tapping through multiple times a day.

And then there’s aesthetics. Some apps simply don’t deserve to be on my first home screen no matter how much I use them. Mostly games. Game designers can’t make an attractive icon for the life of them, it seems.

I was trapped on the horns of dilemma. So for the past couple of years, I’ve abdicated all responsibility for the decision making, and instead instituted A System: every time I tap on an app to open it, I move it one square closer to the front.

Read more….

